Traveling, Tasting and Trying New Things

 

It’s been a pretty significant amount of time since I’ve written any type of blog post with some sort of focus or direction. Sorry, not sorry for the random blogs of the past. I love writing about feelings, about honest experiences that maybe some people can relate to. Often those can get messy, slightly disjointed, or just seem random and scattered; but honestly, that’s how I live my life so I guess if nothing else I’m being authentic.

Z31f.gif

(Sorry guys, I had to add Leo in there!)

 

SO…

I am going to be trying something new with my writing. There are a few things in this sweet sweet (you’ll get the pun later) world that bring me joy; traveling being one, food being the other. But there’s a catch… I have SEVERAL food allergies, and anyone with food allergies knows that traveling is a PAIN when you have severe food allergies. It’s nearly terrifying to eat out in your home city, much less a random city that you’ve just landed in. Due to recent events of a new job     

giphy

Helllloooo travel benefits!

and newly found inspiration, my intent is to start writing about allergen-friendly places all around the country. Obviously, I’m not rich and rolling in the dough (are you getting these puns yet..?), so it’ll be a slow process. But I have exciting plans for the future to make this little blog idea grow into something much larger and more useful for people with allergies.

 

My allergies mainly pertain to nuts, gluten, and (the random one) pineapple. But if y’all have other suggestions of allergens you’d like to see explored or allergy-friendly restaurants that you think I should try, PLEASE leave a comment to help bulk my list! You guys, I’m no health nut (get it?), but I LOVE traveling and trying new places to eat and experience the culture with. I want everyone to feel the freedom to travel, without fear of the question “where will I eat?”. I love watching videos from places like Travel Insider, and Bring Me on Facebook; they show awesome videos of food experiences around the globe, from sweets and spicy, savory to sushi and gigantic food challenges as well. My hope is to bring that level of excitement to allergy-friendly food and travel. Please also note that I cannot guarantee that any of the foods I’ll be reviewing are 100% safe; I can’t make that claim. But I will give you honest opinions about wherever I am able to visit and what options there are!

Now I may have bit off more than I can chew here (I’m sorry, I think that’s the last pun..), but I’m really excited to give this a go and maybe even crash and burn in the process. Maybe it’ll turn into something great, maybe it’ll leave a bitter taste in your mouth (lasssttt one I promise!); but if you like food, travel and terrible puns please stick around.

 

 

Leave a comment